Welcome in San Zenone degli Ezzelini!
Discover the wonders of San Zenone degli Ezzelini (Treviso) with GUIDATOUR’s audioguides
San Zenone degli Ezzelini is a municipality of the Pedemontana del Grappa, inhabited by about 7,000 inhabitants, where nature, art and culture join together to become a cultural landscape. Located among the mountains, the hills and the plains, it contains several protected natural environments, including the Hills San Lorenzo and Castellaro, the Collalto, crossed by footpaths, and the San Daniele Oasis, where live different species of birds, amphibians and plants and where different animals such as roe deer make their nocturnal appearance. However, these areas are also full of history, as emerged from evidences of the prehistoric Age, Roman Empire, Langobardic Period, Romanesque Period and Ezzelini domination. Their lineage ended in 1260 in the Castle builded on Castellaro Hill where Alberico, brother of Ezzelino III, was killed with his family. Unfortunately there are few remains of the Castle however, on the Castellaro Hill,you can now admire the Sanctuary of the Red Church, the ancient bell tower and the presbytery of the ancient Pieve, under which is located a medieval crypt, whose dating is presumed prior to 1152. By these places were fascinated artists like Noè Bordignon, Teodoro Wolf Ferrari, Andrea Filippo Favero, Serafino Ramazzotti, Francesco e Pergiorgio Rebesco, Enzo Alberton and many others who still live and work in San Zenone. Villa Marini Rubelli offers them the right setting for art exhibitions and is used for cultural activities both inside the barchessa and the manor house.The tipology of Noble house is typical Venetian, with a central hallway and rooms in the lateral side.The original nucleus probably dates back to the 16th century, as witnesses the fireplace on the ground floor.The care and promotion of such wealth in the territory is entrusted, in collaboration with the Municipal Administration, to various associations such as the Pro Loco, the Academia Sodalitas Ecelinorum, the Oasi San Daniele Association, the Nature Paths Association.
The Colle Castellaro holds the remains of the Ezzelino Castle, where on the 26th August 1260 the lineage of Ezzelino III da Romano ended, with the killing of his brother Alberico and his family. On the top stands the Sanctuary of the Madonna della Salute, decorated with frescoes by Noè Bordignon and sculptures by Francesco Rebesco and Perethoner. Along the slope we find the cemetery where lie 89 victims of the Great War, the painter Noè Bordignon, his wife and son. Inside the cemetery stands the bell tower of the ancient Pieve and, under the presbytery, there is a medieval crypt.
From 1600 the Villa was the country residence of the Marini family, then, from the mid-nineteenth century, it became property of Francesco Rubelli. It is composed bythe Master house, typically venetian and partly frescoed, a barchessa, a chapel dedicated to the Madonna del Carmine, a walled courtyard and an ancient brolo. Currently the complex is owned by the Municipality which, after the restoration, has been destined to temporary exhibitions and promotion activities of the territory. The barchessa, now seat of the Municipal Council, houses plaster models by the sculptor Francesco Rebesco.
The San Daniele Oasis covers about 70,000 mq.. From the 60s to 1984, the site was exploited as a clay quarry, then, in 1998, the opening of a landfill for industrial sludge was expected, however, thanks to the commitment of the municipal administrations and a committee of citizens, after 10 years of political-legal battles, it has been transformed into an oasis rich in animal and plant species, including narrow-leaved typhus (typha angustifolia). Today the Park is managed for environmental protection and education (research and wildlife photography, birdwatching, guided tours).