Welcome in Noale!
Discover the wonders of Noale (Venezia) with GUIDATOUR’s audioguides
The history of Noale sinks into the Iron Age and testifies to the archaeological finds kept at the municipal depot. After a fleeting apparition in the Roman age, it reappeared in the lower Middle Ages (SECC. XII-XIII) in the middle of a wooded area in the dismantling phase to leave space pastures and fields. The Latin name “annual Feliciter”, appears for the first time in a document of 1115 and from that date is repeated in subsequent acts. The castrum is attested since the 1181.
Of the fortress “Rocca” built to the south (the so-called Palacium Castri), straddling the castle and the countryside, there is no news until the 1245 when Rolando describes the destruction and subsequent rebuilding by the City of Italy. Fortified center, Noale was first feud of the Da Carbonara and later of their storm heirs. In the barycentric position between Treviso, Padua and Mestre, the castle of Noale has played an important role of military control of the borders but, due to the alternative alliances posed by the lordship of the storm, it was often an element of instability in the difficult Balance between the municipalities (SECC. XII – XIII). The storm ruled Noale until 1364, when the family ceded the castle to Venice, except for a short Carrarese domain (1381 – 1388), held it until 1797.
The castle was partly destroyed in the 1513, during the assaults of the imperial armies that pointed to the conquest of Venice. However, the city still preserves the urban signs of the medieval defensive system with the double ditches, the two doors and the mighty towers facing one in Camposampiero, the other in Mestre. Visiting still captures the cultural and artistic atmosphere of the Middle Ages, the personality of the founders, the vicissitudes of the period of Venetian domination, the way of being of the wealthy landowners of the past. The visitor, a devout or curious man, a tourist who is once entered in the churches of Noale, full of history and art, will not be able to relive the profound religious experience of a time far away, in them are preserved works of art by: Vittore Carpaccio, Alvise Vivarini, Andrea Mendolla said the Schiavone, Palma the Younger, Jacopo Sansovino and many others.
The rediscovery of events and cultural values of great appeal inserted in the medieval atmosphere, has made Noale a point of tourist attraction. Among the events that arouse the greatest interest of visitors, the event of the reenactment of the “Palio”, which is reminiscent of the ancient local tradition dating from the 1339 and the traditional bonfire “Panevìn ” of January 6, prevails. Every second Sunday of April takes place “Noale in Fiore”, a regional market of flowers, plants and gardening, with the creation of artistic gardens in the square; While a large carpet of flowers is set up on the occasion of the religious feast of Corpus Christi.
The Palacium Castri, later Castrum, Rocha, today Rocca was the fortified manor house of the Tempest, Lords of the Medieval centre of Noale. It is presumed to be in the twelfth century and rises on the horse of the director Camposampiero-Mestre, it has a form of irregular quadrilateral, the subject of a recent restoration intervention.
It was used for military purposes until 1763 and, after abandonment and decay, in 1819 it became a cemetery until 1983.
Inside the walls, demolished during the sixteenth century, the church and beautiful dwellings decorated with frescoes rise up. There are two large entrance doors to the castle, equipped with Ghibelline battlements, which are flanked by mighty towers known as Clock tower and bell tower.
It is of ancient foundation: according to tradition, it was Saint Prosdocimo, Bishop of Padua, to convert and baptize the Noalesi and to consecrate a small chapel dedicated to the ascension of the Lord. From 1110, when the relics were transferred from Malamocco to Chioggia, the church is entitled to the Holy martyrs of Vicenza Felice and Fortunato, depicted in 1573 by Damiano Mazza, pupil of Titian, in the altarpiece of the main altar. Originally it had a single nave, but in the 1444 were added the two lateral separated by the central by pillars and columns with arches in the sixth. During the XVIII century the church was remodeled: The central nave was raised, which was frescoed by Justin Miniscardi, who depicted the martyrdom and glory of the SS. Happy and fortunate. In 1875 the façade was also rebuilt on the design of the Venetian architect Giovanni Battista Meduna.
The interior presents various valuable works of art: The baptismal font dated XX MAZO 1420, is embellished by a wooden “Temple” executed in the 1591 and decorated in the 1593 with paintings of the School of Tintoretto; The altarpiece of the Assumption of Alvise Vivarini; The great table with St. John the Baptist among the Apostles Peter and Paul, masterpiece of Vittore Carpaccio, of the first half of the XVI century, the altar of the Blessed Sacrament of Jacopo Sansovino of 1539; A assumption of the Virgin with the Apostles performed by Jacopo Palma the young man of the 1610, signed. The Archpriest of the Felice and Fortunato Saints is the seat of a vicariate of the diocese of Treviso, comprising, in addition to the three parishes of the hamlets, also the parishes of the neighboring municipalities of the city of Padua, Salzano and Santa Maria di Sala
The Oasi WWF Cave in Noale is located in the territory of the municipality of Noale, in the Province of Venice, and is one of the favourite destinations especially by the natural photographers of the region, thanks to the presence of numerous animal and plant species. The oasis covers an area of about 20 hectares, is part of a SIC and spas of 40 ha and its management was entrusted to the Oasi WWF Cave of Noale.