Welcome in Marostica!
Discover the wonders of Marostica (Vicenza) with GUIDATOUR’s audioguides
Marostica Wall Town, rich in History, Art and Traditions. A military fortress designed by the Signoria dei Dalla Scala from Verona (14th Century), which they recognized in the small hamlet built on the slopes of the Asiago plateau, the ideal strategic place to transform the little village in a proper town The morphological structure of the territory was perfectly fit to conceive and carry out a very unusual project. So that two castles were built, one on a hill from which to dominate the surrounding landscapes, the other on the plain, linked together by a two kilometer long wall, and behind the Lowe Castle a big Square, wher to meet for business and leisure.The historical and artistic heritage of Marostica is immersed in a naturalistic sorrounding that over the Centuries has accompanied its development and growth, making Marostica one of the most beautiful spot of Veneto Region.We invite you to look out over the Castles, the Town Wall, the Piazza Castello, the Chiesa dei Carmini Staircase, the Churches and Monuments, and the charming corners that embrace the visitors in a fascinating atmosphere. In these places, there are many activities organized throughout the year: conferences, concerts, dance shows, exhibitions, music exhibitions, crafts traditions and popular traditions. Marostica is also renowned for the large production of the first fruit of the spring season: the famous “marostegane” cherries that got the European brand PGI in 2001. On the occasion of the summer event Marostica Estate, in June and July, the Piazza Castello. Here the spectacular show The Chess Game with real actors takes place every two years in the the even years. The Lower Castle and the Square are the outstanding scenery, the magic atmosphere and the ancient beauty, where great musical concerts, theatre plays and dance performances come to life, creating unforgettable emotions in the audience.
The walking tour around and inside the Wall Town is one of the most popular for tourists. Easily practicable, it leads to visit the old settlement of Marostica, Borgo (Borough) Giara, with ist rema of the first Hospital and the craft sites for the production of silk yarn. The early Our Lady of Assumption Church and Prospero Alpini birthplace, who brought the Coffee to Europe at the end of the Sixteenth Century, are still exisiting as witness of many historical events.Leaving Borgo Giara, walk into the Walled Town through the Gate “Bassano”, to discover the Medieval Town, settled by Romano d’Ezzelino who built the Mastio, fortified by the Family Della Scala of Verona with the mighty Wall and the two Castles. The visit continues going up to the Upper Castle along the path on Pausolino Hill: once you reach the summit you can enjoy a breathtaking view, ranging from the plains to the mountains.
Marostica became “scaligera” following the conquest of Vicenza by Cangrande Della Scala in 1311, and remained under the Della Scala (Scaligeri) rule until 1387.A border outpost of the Scaligeri, fighting against Padua, Marostica was involved in the Paduan-Scaliger war of 1312-1314, during which the village, built and developed east of the present walled city, around the Church of Santa Maria Assunta, it was assaulted and looted by the Padovani. Subsequently, in 1338 Marostica fell for a few months under the dominion of Sicco da Caldonazzo, but then returned to firm scaligere hands. These events led the Scaligeri to fortify Marostica, giving rise to the construction of the Wall, with the two Castles, the Lower one and the Upper one on the Hill Pausolino.
It is the oldest evidence of the Christian Faith in Marostica. Probably dating back to 700 AD, it has been the parish church of the first settlement of Marostica, in Borgo (Borough) Giara, located at the foot of the Colle Pauso, a place of ancient human presence in pre-Roman and Roman times. Center of irradiation of the Gospel message, in the Thirteenth Century it became “Arcipresbiterale” Church, with its distinctive coat of arms, and many smaller churches, Chapels of ease, in various districts.
Church of Saint Anthony Abbot
The foundation of the Church dates back to the perido of the Della Scala of Verona (1311-1387). Documentary sources (1440) confirm the existence of a small Saint Frances Friary Convent, adjacent to the church itself. The friars remained there until 1656, when the convent was suppressed because it had no income. In the Seventeenth Century the church and the convent passed under the supervision of the Confraternity of Carmine. The church was fully restored and enlarged to its present size in 1730-1740. Inside there is the precious altarpiece Saint Paul delivering the Areopagus Sermon in Athens, by Jacopo Dal Ponte (1574)
Church and Oratory Carmin
The Church and the Oratory Carmini were built for the will of the local community between August 1618 and August 1619, following, apparently, the exhortations of the father Giuseppe Da Faenza, who came to preach in Marostica in 1617. The construction was made possible thanks to the offers of the “ “Marosticensi” faithful.