Welcome in Legnago!
Discover the wonders of Legnago (Verona) with GUIDATOUR’s audioguides
Legnago is a very elegant place, rich in history and culture. Here was the composer Antonio Salieri born. It is the traditional agricultural center, but also the commercial and industrial landmark for the southern part of the province of Verona. It is inserted inside the Veronese Plain, an area characterized by the interweaving of earth, water and sky. The past events of Legnago are inextricably linked to the river flowing through it: the Adige. In fact, as early as the tenth century a castle had guarded the important river traffic and the only existing bridge in the Pianura Veronese at that time. When the Venetians took over Legnago became the difensive centre of the southern border of the Republic of Venice. In the first half of the fifteenth century the town was sorrounded by walls. Because of the war between the Republic of Venice and the Cambrai League, Legnago and its castle, core of violent clashes, were completely destroyed. The Venetian Senate decided to re-establish the defensive walls imediatly after the war. The project was assigned to the famous architect Michele Sanmicheli. During the French occupation and the Austrian occupation, the fortress of Legnago was restored and strengthened several times. It became part of the ‘Quadrilatero’, the famous defensive Austrian system of the Lombardo-Veneto region. After the Unification of Italy, with no more defensive needs and due also to the terrible floods of the river Adige of 1868 and 1882, the walls were completely demolished in order to build new neighbourhoods. Legnago suffered also heavy bombings during the Second World War. The city hosts today the Tourist Information Office of Pianura Veronese, a landmark for tourists passing through the cycle route of the river Adige. The city center is also enlivened by the Sunday pedestrian promenade that makes it a gathering place for leisure and family entertainment as well as numerous events and public venues.
The first forts of Legnago, erected along the two banks of the river Adige to defend the old river port and the river transport, date back to the tenth century; from that moment onwards, they marked the territory for about a thousand years. In 1405 Legnago was annexed to the Republic of Venice; Legnago and Porto were surrounded by walls and provided with two castles built by the river near the accesses to the bridge. In 1475 the Republic of Venice strengthened the castle of Legnago by building four round towers at each corner: one of the four towers has survived so far (the ‘Torrione’).
The Fioroni Foundation Museum in Legnago is one of the most evocative and noteworthy home-museums in Veneto. The eight rooms of the risorgimental museum tell the long story of the unification of Italy since the heroic deeds of Napoleon: the “carbonari” and “mazziniani” risings, the events of 1848, the second war of independence as well as the legendary general Giuseppe Garibaldi who is commemorated in the extraordinary relics which belonged to him. The other rooms in the ground floor show the Medieval and Renaissance history of the town of Legnago, through a rich collection of arms and pottery.
The present structure of the city theatre dates back to 1911 but works stopped due to the outbreak of the First World War; it was completed only after the Second World War. In order to celebrate the first centenary of Antonio Salieri’s death, the theatre was officially named to the great composer and Kappelmeister, born in Legnago on 18th August 1750. In 1766, after his parents’ death, Antonio Salieri left Legnago and moved to Venice and after to Vienna. The career of the young composer from Legnago began to thrive over there. He died in Vienna on 7th May 1825.